SDR Devices

This is the place to discuss Riverside County scanning related topics. Whether it be something about a particular agency, radios, antennas, or other general scanner related questions, you can talk about it here.
ehgriffith

SDR Devices

Post by ehgriffith »

I recently picked up a Nooelec Smart SDR receiver kit (for about $28). There are also several competing brands that are similar (RTL-SDR, etc.), mostly available on Amazon. It is an interesting device that will basically connect to your computer via USB and act as a spectrum analyzer and receiver from 25Mhs to 1.5Ghz. I am still digesting and trying to figure it all out, but it does point to some interesting things lurking on the airwaves that I wasn't aware of. As I am still a noob with this, I was just wondering if anyone else has played with one of these or has found anything interesting. It is very much a bare bones type of device. There is not too much to do in Riverside with the scanner these days...
sp1989

Re: SDR Devices

Post by sp1989 »

Howdy. I have a few dongles, i use one 24/7 for ads-b plane tracking. I also have a Nooelec dongle with the Ham-it-up converter for HF reception. I haven't used that set up in a while, I got frustrated with the constant tinkering to try and get it to work properly. Just when I think I have it set correctly, I am plagued once again with images popping up, like WWV on freqs where it doesn't belong. Never tried using one as a scanner for the same reason, I want it to work with no tinkering involved.
ehgriffith

Post by ehgriffith »