Advice for a newbie please.

This is the place to discuss Riverside County scanning related topics. Whether it be something about a particular agency, radios, antennas, or other general scanner related questions, you can talk about it here.
kevinb1988

Advice for a newbie please.

Post by kevinb1988 »

Hello,

I am new to scanning and want to get into it. I'm looking for purchase advice for my first scanner. I tried to use the forum search and it didn't pull anything up.

What I'm looking for is something portable and has the ability to scan the following departments:

-Murrieta Fire
-Riverside City Fire
-Riverside County Fire
-Los Angeles County Fire
-Los Angeles City Fire
-Palm Springs Fire
-Cathedral City Fire
-Corona Fire

and any police agencies in these areas that aren't encrypted.

I know I won't be able to scan all these departments at the same time due to location. I want something that will work well when I am in these departments area.

The big ones I want are Murrieta and Riverside County as I live in Murrieta. I travel to the other cities for work/friends.

I don't need the best of the best but I don't want to get a lower quality scanner and in a few weeks have buyers regret.

Please point me in the right direction.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and reply.
-Kevin
cvrules90

Re: Advice for a newbie please.

Post by cvrules90 »

kevinb1988 wrote:Hello,

I am new to scanning and want to get into it. I'm looking for purchase advice for my first scanner. I tried to use the forum search and it didn't pull anything up.

What I'm looking for is something portable and has the ability to scan the following departments:

-Murrieta Fire
-Riverside City Fire
-Riverside County Fire
-Los Angeles County Fire
-Los Angeles City Fire
-Palm Springs Fire
-Cathedral City Fire
-Corona Fire

I know I won't be able to scan all these departments at the same time due to location. I want something that will work well when I am in these departments area.