Mobile Scanning In Riverside

This is the place to discuss Riverside County scanning related topics. Whether it be something about a particular agency, radios, antennas, or other general scanner related questions, you can talk about it here.
joelbarnard

Mobile Scanning In Riverside

Post by joelbarnard »

Hello everyone, glad I stumbled over this forum!

I have a few newbie questions to ask, I have been using a Radio Shack Pro 95 for a few years and love catching whatever traffic I can get but and wanting to move to the next level and looking to purchase a Uniden BCD996P2, mount it in my car and install an appropriate antenna with hopes of monitoring Riverside PD, FD and maybe CHP. I fear I might be out of luck though after reading the post posted before mine back in 2014... Is this a waste of time, is all the traffic I want really want encrypted and therefore unavailable? What are your thoughts? And if any of this is possible, I was also hoping to find someone I could hire to do the antenna and mount work for a fee as my car might be a little tricky :-)

Thank you in advance!

-Joel
tk353

Re: Mobile Scanning In Riverside

Post by tk353 »

I use Com Serco which is a Motorola dealership in Riverside for installs. Also there is a company called West Coast light and siren. If you hear the nick name of Com Circus that's the same dealership as Com Serco.
sp1989

Post by sp1989 »

As for right now, all the agencies you mention are in the clear. For how much longer, who can say? Riverside County has been courting RPD to join PSEC, so far they have not. If they do, goodbye listening to RPD as PSEC is 100% encrypted.
joelbarnard

Post by joelbarnard »

tk353 wrote:I use Com Serco which is a Motorola dealership in Riverside for installs. Also there is a company called West Coast light and siren. If you hear the nick name of Com Circus that's the same dealership as Com Serco.