SIB Encrypted?

This forum is used for topics that specifically relate to the Riverside County Sheriff's Department. This area was mostly for stuff about the old EDACS system, but new topics about RSO are also welcome.
cvrules90

SIB Encrypted?

Post by cvrules90 »

Is it true that, on the EDACS radio system, the special investigations bureu talkgroups are encrypted? That is what the alpha tag states on radio reference.
sp1989

Re: SIB Encrypted?

Post by sp1989 »

I don't think so, unless they count trunked as encrypted
brandon

Post by brandon »

It has not been encrypted whenever I have listened to it. During the Soboba shootings several years ago the dispatcher referred to the channel as "Encrypted 13" --- However, units came up on it and everything was in the clear. Maybe in the past it was, but I've been listening since 2005 and never logged encrypted comms on the EDACS system.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
cvrules90

Post by cvrules90 »

brandon wrote:It has not been encrypted whenever I have listened to it. During the Soboba shootings several years ago the dispatcher referred to the channel as "Encrypted 13" --- However, units came up on it and everything was in the clear. Maybe in the past it was, but I've been listening since 2005 and never logged encrypted comms on the EDACS system.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
Well because it's 100% analog, I didn't think so. Otherwise, then we're talking ProVoice digital which can't be monitored-encrypted or not.
zz0468

Post by zz0468 »

cvrules90 wrote:
brandon wrote:Well because it's 100% analog, I didn't think so. Otherwise, then we're talking ProVoice digital which can't be monitored-encrypted or not.
EDACS is not "100% analog". RSO's EDACS system is capable of a digital mode known as Aegis, that can be encrypted. Aegis audio quality is poor, so it never became popular to use. But it's there. And so are the encryption keyloaders.