newbie needs help

This is the place to discuss Riverside County scanning related topics. Whether it be something about a particular agency, radios, antennas, or other general scanner related questions, you can talk about it here.
olympia1979

newbie needs help

Post by olympia1979 »

hello everyone. i am new to the scanner scene and wanted some help in purchasing my first scanner. i would like to listen to Riverside pd, RSO, CHP, and neighboring San bernardino county. what type of scanner would i need? what should i look for? money is a bit tight and i am looking to spend a max of around 150. thanks all in advance.
cvrules90

Re: newbie needs help

Post by cvrules90 »

[quote][/quote]

First of all, no matter what scanner you get you'll be able to monitor Riverside PD, CDF RRU, and CHP.

As for RSO and SBSO, your best bet is a RadioShack PRO 164 (handheld) or PRO 163 (base). The counties both use analog Motorola and EDACS systems. Those will set you back between $150 and $200. So I think a little on the high side.

If you like Uniden, then a good choice would be the BC246T. It has the same capabilities as the RadioShack models. A digital model is way overpriced, but you could expand a little more in that you'd also be able to monitor the LAPD. (Just thought I'd say that in case you change your mind).
sp1989

Post by sp1989 »

Don't spend extra money for a trunked scanner just to listen to RSO, as they will vanish shortly when they switch to 700mhz encrypted. RPD & chippies you can hear with a $50 non-trunking radio, SB County is trunked, but I don't listen to them often, and re-banding may make their current system difficult to monitor. There is always mil-av band, which is active in the IE, although you need a digital scanner to monitor MAFB bas ops. Welcome to the fold!!!!!
cvrules90

Post by cvrules90 »

Yikes! I had a nightmare about RSO switching last night!
temfreqhunter

Post by temfreqhunter »